The Simpsons Super Review

Howdy all.

This is my review blog. The plan is to choose a new thing to extensively review every few months. I’ve had multiple requests, from reviewing and ranking every Beatles song in their catalogue to doing the same with episodes of the now defunct television show LOST. I’ll get to those in time, I promise, but first I’m going to do something I’ve wanted to do for quite some time.

Growing up in the ’80s and ’90s I never wanted for entertainment. A constant barrage of television shows, music, comic books, video games, and movies was inescapable, not that I’d ever want to escape that stuff. Pop culture became a big part of my life and helped me to develop into the whatever-I-am today. 

And so when I was deciding what my first endeavor into the blogging world would be it wasn’t hard to figure out what to cover. The crown jewel of ’80s and ’90s pop culture and one of the biggest influences on my brand of humor, politics, religion – The Simpsons. 

Some of you reading this might gasp and say, “Huffaw, the Simpsons is terrible,” and you’d be right. For the past ten or so years the show has suffered from “Trying Too Hard”. I’ll get into that later, but if you’re interested in delving deeper into the “why” of Simpsons history I suggest you check out Dead Homer Society’s excellent piece called “Zombie Simpsons: How the Best Show Ever Became the Broadcasting Undead“. 

This blog can never come close to being as in-depth or analytically successful as that piece but I hope you’ll enjoy what I’m trying to do nonetheless. See, my plan is to watch, review, dissect, and rate every single episode of the Simpsons that has ever aired. That’s over 500 episodes so I have my work cut out for me. Maybe I’ll work in some other reviews to break up the monotony. Maybe I’ll die before I get to the end and Brandon Sanderson can come in and finish my work for me. We shall see. Since I don’t own all of the Simpsons box sets on DVD because I’m poor, I’ll be using wtso.net to stream every episode. Screen grabs and the like won’t be super high quality but you’ll get the gist.

For now I just want to say thanks for reading, buckle up, and try to enjoy the ride. I have a feeling things will start to get bumpy after about 13 seasons. We’ll have to start drinking heavily. Together. And then we can swear off booze and promise to never drink again.

Image

And we never did…

One thought on “The Simpsons Super Review

  1. Pingback: Reading Digest: Late Scratch Edition | Dead Homer Society

Leave a Reply

